Street Sketchbook: Art and Design Book Review

I got the book Street Sketchbook as a present (from my Amazon wishlist) not this Christmas but the Christmas before and I have been meaning to review it ever since.

Street Sketchbook is as the name implies a look at the sketch books of artist and illustrators. The word “Street” does not necessarily mean that the artists are street artists, though some are, but is used more as a term to describe non conformists art. A lot of the sketches are character based, with interlocking patterns and figures and is a great source of inspiration for graphic designers and illustrators alike. I don’t know about you but I sometimes prefer the rough drawings I do for my design projects to he finished designs. A sketch just manages to have spontaneity that is difficult to maintain.

Below are some pages from the book

street sketchbook design book - designer sketches

I really like the use of ready made/found  images in the pages above. It’s something that could be used as inpiration for illustration or design – using the idea of taking found textures and drawing on top of them.

street sketch book design book - pen and ink character design

I like the way this image flows across the page and the stylistic characters are beautiful.

street sketchbook watercolour illustration

As you would expect from a sketch book many of the illustrations are black and white, but as you can see from the pages above some artists also demonstrate the use of loose vibrant colour work.

Overall I think this book is a great source of imagery, I was so impressed I actually bought a painting (below) by one of the featured artists Wayne Horse 

black and white painting

This entry was posted in Design Books, General Graphic Design, illustration and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Both comments and trackbacks are currently closed.

13 Comments

  1. Posted March 6, 2010 at 12:28 am | Permalink

    I personally really like the B&W stuff. Maybe it’s because I’m a photographer. Great stuff! fun to look at

  2. Posted March 6, 2010 at 11:53 am | Permalink

    I like this a lot. Some really creative illustration design work in there. Might just have to get myself a copy too! Thanks for sharing.

  3. Posted March 8, 2010 at 7:51 am | Permalink

    When I first saw Street Sketch I was drawn to it for some reason. I’ve never really drew consistanly before, but when I took a look into this book it made me want to pick up the pencil and paper. I was instantly inspired by the pieces Tristan Manco was able to bring together in this one book. I don’t even have a favorite, all of these artist are innovative in their own way and every time I turn the page it’s like I’m opening it for the first time.

  4. Posted March 8, 2010 at 8:43 am | Permalink

    Hi Andy
    I know what you mean, its one of those books you can look at over and over again and always notice something new.

  5. Posted March 8, 2010 at 5:24 pm | Permalink

    Looks great, thanks for sharing!!

  6. Posted March 9, 2010 at 9:35 am | Permalink

    Which web design book would you recommend to a complete beginner?

  7. Posted March 11, 2010 at 9:21 am | Permalink
  8. Posted March 11, 2010 at 9:56 am | Permalink

    Really amazing arts! Thanks for the review….

  9. Posted March 15, 2010 at 5:05 am | Permalink

    Wow pretty nice and cool designs from the book. Nice review, I will log into Amazon to take a look at it now. Hope that these nice designs dont just stay on print but will get to appear on teeshirts like Threadless, or posters, ads etc…

  10. Posted March 15, 2010 at 10:36 am | Permalink

    They’re messy but amazing! I like those styles.

  11. Posted March 20, 2010 at 9:15 am | Permalink

    When I first saw Street Sketch I was drawn to it for some reason. I’ve never really drew consistanly before, but when I took a look into this book it made me want to pick up the pencil and paper.

  12. Posted March 28, 2010 at 5:45 pm | Permalink

    Wow, I think this has gone to the top of my to-read list! I love the flowing image with the cool characters.

  13. Posted April 22, 2012 at 6:40 pm | Permalink

    Designs looks great, thanks for sharing.:)

  • GDB Supported by

  • Subscribe to our Free Newsletter

  • Logo Design Course for Beginners

    how to design a logo
  • About

    Hi, this is Tara, I am a freelance graphic designer based in Northamptonshire UK. I have nearly 20 years design experience and I write this graphic design blog. Please take a look at my portfolio or contact me for more information

  • Ideas Uploaded Blog

    Check out my other blog www.ideasuploaded.com